Death to Lolz Speak


I’m currently working within a group, to which I was sent an email using Lolzspeak in a formal setting, I as my previous post details, I’m trying on this mantle of more responsibility, however I fear I’m turning into a grammar/English language Nazi as this really annoys me. (I did consider putting that in [caps lock] however, I think that would be worse!)

Why do people in a professional setting, complete with web-based spell checkers deem it necessary to write “how r u?” or “plz mail this 2 me”.  The thing that worries me about the whole thing, is it that I’m being old and grumpy. Lolz cats are funny, period. Introduced to me by the immense @gravitystorm on a summers day in 2007 I liked the pictures and some of the annotations were pretty funny, and that was good. But in a workplace it just seems wrong, or am I just being cranky?

Author: Mark Iliffe

Traveller, Programmer, Geospatialist and Motorcyclist

6 thoughts on “Death to Lolz Speak”

  1. No, I don’t think you’re being grumpy at all. Well, either that or I’m just as grumpy, which is a distinct posibility!

    Having said that, you have spelt English as ‘english’, which for a post about correct use of grammar is quite ironic! And I would think Nazi should also be capitalized.

  2. Oh, don’t worry, I definitely feel for you. 😉
    At least you don’t have to suffer wrong use of “foreign” (=pseudo-English) words as well…
    Greetings from the land of Anglicisms!
    Marie

Leave a Reply

